Day 9- Reykjavik

My dad decided to take a recovery day and stay at the cabin while the rest of us headed into Reykjavik. It was about an hour away. I loved the varying textures and materials used on the buildings there.

Our lunch spot was Kopar, located on the harbor. My mom and I got the rock crab soup to start. It was Thai leaning in its flavors with a light curry and bean sprouts. It was delicious and made up for the lamb soup the night before. For the main, Cory and I got the catch(a mild, white local fish) with quinoa and a butter and leek sauce. My mom got mushroom risotto, and Mike got the mushroom wellington. Everything was very good, but after trying them all, I was very happy with my choice.

After lunch, we walked through the city center, popping in and out of shops. It was the first day of summer celebration for them, which was both a national holiday and still quite chilly. Mike had a ceramic artist’s shop he wanted to visit and we stopped in there. It was also the beginning of an artist’s weekend so they had drinks and snacks. I got a small sauce bowl to add to my collection.

Souvenirs acquired, we headed back home to scoop up my dad and head to Messinn in Selfoss for dinner. They specialize in pan dishes- different seafood cooked and brought out in a skillet. My brother and I shared halibut and the Icelandic fish stew. Both were very good, but the stew ate more like a casserole with cod potatoes and cheese.

After dinner, we went back home to try and see the northern lights since conditions were a little better than previous nights, and our time is starting to run out. After a few false alarms from my mom just seeing clouds, we gave up and went to bed.

Leave a comment